Skip to content

Matyáš Novák, Smetana 200 years

Portrett av en ung mann kledd i en hvit skjorte. Han ser mot venstre.

Matyáš Novák. Foto: Lenka Hatasova


Where Troldhaugen

Price 290/100 NOK

Matyáš Novák has distinguished himself as one of the most promising pianists of his generation through his extraordinary harmonic expression, extensive repertoire, and unique way of playing.

Buy ticket

Matyáš Novák was born in Hradec Králové, Czech Republic. He began studying piano and violin at the age of five. Novák graduated from the Imola International Piano Academy in 2022, where he studied with Boris Petrushansky.

He has previously studied at the Pardubice Conservatoire in the Czech Republic under Jitka Fowler Fraňková. Currently, Novák is attending the Academy of Performing Arts in Prague, in the class led by Professor Ivan Klánský.


Bedřich Smetana (1824-1884)

Czech Dances, Book II

1. Furiant

2. Little Hen

3. Oats

4. The Bear

5. Little Onion

6. Stomp Dance

7. The Lancer

8. Stepping Round

9. Neighbours´ Dance

10. Jumping Dance

Franz Liszt (1811-1886)

Cantique d´amour, S. 173, No. 10

Oh Lieb, so lang du lieben kannst, S. 541, No. 3

Ballade No 2, S. 171

Bedřich Smetana / Matyáš Novák

The Moldau (piano transcription)

Practical Information

It will be possible to buy tickets for each individual concert at the entrance on the day of the concert, subject to availability.

The concerts last approximately one hour.

The concert ticket also includes entrance to the museum and Grieg's villa.

The museum is open as usual, offering guided tours of the villa, a free audio guide for the outdoor areas, a café, and exhibitions.

See also

The concert takes place at Troldhaugen, the home of Edvard Grieg.